Casey Anthony: Loving Mother?

The State attempted to portray Casey Anthony as a cold-hearted, callous killer who never had any emotional attachment to her child.

A character profile is necessary in determining what kind of person a suspect was before the crime was committed and what kind of relationship they had with the victim. I missed the first few weeks of character testimony so I went back and read all of the police interviews conducted on her family and friends.

After the fact, we know the story. She lied about her child and seemingly showed detachment when questioned by law enforcement. The police interview at Universal demonstrated that behavior (read interview, listen) and the jail visitation videos showed it.

The State said Casey was heartless and only “appeared” to be a caring, loving mother for the cameras (see photos) but her actions were never genuine. But the statements given by her friends in police interviews paint a different portrait.

Which do you believe?

The Relationship Between Casey and Caylee

These are a few statements given by Casey Anthony’s friends on the relationship between her and her child.

Anthony Lazzaro (transcript):

She was very loving and caring…and like there was not there was no doubt in my mind that you know that she loved her child and wouldn’t do anything (inaudible) this why it was such a shock to hear this stuff.

Um…she always had her juice, she always had some juice and crackers animal crackers or this little fish uh not gold fish but like I guess like this dolphin things.

Christopher Stutz (transcript):

I mean she always, her daughter was her life.

She never said anything like that where she tried to, or that Caylee was harmful to Casey, you know, as far as disrupting her life.

I’ve seen the way she interacts with her kid, and I’ve been to that house a million, her house a million times and seen her fall down and she’d pick her up and kiss her and like, “You’re okay.”

Lauren Gibbs (transcript):

Oh, yeah (affirmative), like when she would leave she would kiss her goodbye you know. It was kind of like you know when kids get to the point like where they cry when their parents leave? She wouldn’t, Casey wouldn’t leave.  Uh, so she’d just keep crying. Like Casey felt bad about leaving her, you know and she, once she’d get home the first thing she’d do is run to Caylee and, “Oh, I missed you,” you know, kind of thing.  But she always, she seemed like a good mom to me.

Melina Calabrese (transcript):

She and Caylee were adorable. I mean, they would call me on the phone and they would sing songs to me. She was, for being, you know, a nineteen, twenty, twenty-one, uh, mother, she, she, I, I just, I I’m you know, I didn’t envy it, because, obviously, I’m not a mother. But, I just, I, I almost hoped for it, you know, because, she was very good with Caylee. She gave Caylee almost everything that a little girl could need or want. She was very good with her when it, you know, when Caylee did get upset, randomly. Uh, you know, Casey was very good with her. Just never raised her voice. Always, you know, and I never once ever saw her touch her in a, in a, in a negatory (sic) way. It, it’s, you know, and to this day I, I, I hope my mother/daughter bond is going to be like that. And, it almost seemed easy.

Ricardo Morales (transcript):

I felt they get along fine like from what I saw with her and Caylee. She was always attentive of Caylee, I mean, I think she would feed her you know change her, give her juice make sure she had…all her little teddy bears she go to bed with, I mean, from what I saw between her and Casey I mean her and Cay…Casey and Caylee it was a good relationship. I thought Casey was a good mother.

Johnathan Daly (transcript):

…any time I’ve ever seen her with Caylee she’s been an amazing mother. Like totally, completely bonded together, just you know, a great mom.

Sean Daly (transcript):

Uh, she seemed like a great mother to be honest with you. She seemed absolutely normal. She seemed, you know, she, she just seemed like she loved her daughter. I would have never questioned anything about her motherhood with her daughter at all.

Annie Downing (transcript):

The relationship that I witnessed with Ca… between Casey and Caylee, Casey was an excellent mother. Uhm, too over-protective.

Jesse Grund (transcript):

I don’t believe Casey would have ever hurt Caylee on purpose and I, I, there’s no way that I, I personally could ever foresee her doing that.

Richard Grund (transcript):

Uh, as far as Casey as a mother, what I saw she seemed to be a doting, loving mother.

Caylee was the center of Casey’s life. Without Caylee she has no self-worth and she has no value…

Amy Huizenga (transcript):

[They had a] Very loving, normal relationship. Nothing ever seemed abnormal. She took care of her. She — Caylee was very well behaved, which obviously bodes something for her parenting because bad parents don’t have well-behaved children. That’s just the truth.

Casey Anthony Text Message to Amy, June 9, 2008 (view messages):

Caylee just pooped in her potty for the first time.
Sorry. Proud momma moment.

Casey Anthony IM to Anthony Rusciano, May 6, 2008 (view messages):

you know what you’re getting into with me, and i’m sorry, caylee has to come first…

It is regrettable how the child’s death was handled in such an undignified way, but it is reassuring to know that she was treated well while she was alive. She was cared for and loved by many.

Other children are not afforded the same respect by their parents and guardians. Take the recent case of 10 year-old Ame Deal who was locked in a box and suffocated (read story). She was subjected to significant abuse throughout her life such as eating dog feces, sleeping in a shower, and running up and down the street under the hot sun as punishment. Her name will be forgotten soon. In the local newspaper a few days ago, a man beat a 2 year-old child to death. Unfortunately, these stories are common; but in most of these stories, there is a history of abuse and neglect or a parent/guardian with a history of violence.

To place Casey Anthony in the same league as these deplorable, despicable people is unfair. Child abusers are the worst of the worst. There is no evidence prior to June 16, 2008 to back up a claim she was abusive, neglectful or violent with her child, or any person, in any way. In fact, the evidence proves otherwise. The child never had mysterious bruises or cuts. She always had her toys and reading material. And she always had something to eat.

One could argue that the grandparents actually provided for the child – which is true – but the fact is Casey was with the child more than anyone. And the child preferred to be with Casey over anyone else.

Casey Anthony, as Her Friends Knew Her

Ricardo Morales:

I’ll tell you exactly what I thought um…she was a very nice person, she is a nice person um …a lot of…she seemed to be very agreeable like if you say something whether or not she’s actually done she’ll say she has and a lot of stuff she’d say I …think it was a little bit BS but it was trivial things so I never paid it too much mind. Um…besides that she was very nice, she was caring, she…like I would I got sick one time even when we were after we were dating she came and cooked for me food, chicken soup and all this stuff like she was a very good person, she did care and I got along with her great.

Anthony Lazzaro:

Um…she’s been really happy she’s just and you I mean…any of my friends that have hang out with her she comes out she’s very very social person

She’s been like a she was been like one like a perfect girlfriend if you want to say I mean… She’s been also at home pretty pretty good around here, she’s been you know doing my laundry. She’s been cooking for everybody in the house, cleaning up the place…

Johnathan Daly:

She’s always been like the mother figure in the group, like, hey, you shouldn’t be doing this. Hey, you shouldn’t be doing that.

Sean Daly:

Yeah (affirmative), she’s definitely told her share of lies.

Casey was always the type that would scold people if she went to a party and saw people with pot she’d be like, she was motherly.

Melina Calabrese:

Uhm, you know, Casey and I have had plenty of good times since high school. And, you know, even in high school, and since high school, neither of us were really the club, going out; at least, as frequent as what her pictures appeared to be, like.

I guess, this past year, she was—she would try and do more relationships than just dating. You know, she, she was all, you know, she tried again with Jesse. She met that Ricardo guy. And, she met this Tony guy. I heard about her and, you know, you know, being interested in this guy and being interested in that guy. Casey liked; almost, it was like a game for her, I think. You know, and, uh, uh, we used to do—it was kind of fun in high school. You would, you know, like a guy and then you would get his attention and hang out for a little bit. And, then you’d get bored and go to the next one. But, she just, she’s kept doing it since then. Which is fine. You know, we’re that, we’re at that age, you should be able to date and do whatnot. It just, it, I almost think that was her attitude towards it. It was that she would hang out with a guy long enough that would keep her attention; and, and then, she’d want a new challenge.

I never once had a problem with her. I mean, and she’s been at my house plenty of times. I’ve hung out with her plenty of times. I’ve never noticed anything missing, or money missing, or me borrow, you know, lending her money.

Uhm, she just, you know, uh, things would get—I think she would just start lying about where she was, and what she was doing, and I don’t know why. You know, maybe, it felt like she needed to just put on a good show for people. I don’t know what it was that she, what made her do it.

[Regarding the infamous phone call] I can’t imagine the last, can’t remember the last time I was so angry. You know, it just wasn’t, it’s not, it’s not Casey. That’s not the Casey I know. That’s not the Casey; and, I, I just couldn’t understand how she was so rude; and, and so, uh, it just, it doesn’t, it doesn’t remind, it doesn’t—I don’t know, it just didn’t sit well with me.

Ryan Pasley (transcript):

I think the biggest problem with her is that, well with me especially, is that she had to, she this issue with uh, you know, trying to, you know, be the one-uppy? And I guess she felt kind of like her life wasn’t necessarily going in the direction that she wanted it to go. So every time she would talk to me and maybe that something was going good for me like I finished up my final exams, or I’m getting this much closer to graduating, she would always come up with something to kind of make the, the playing field level between the two of us somehow.

I just thought that Casey was just a little bit of a white liar, you know. I would catch her in certain lies like (sighs), you know, just stupid things about what she was doing or uhm, you know, and who she was hanging out with. And so that, but it never really uh, caught my attention.

Kiomarie Cruz (transcript):

Um, I know I can’t really say she is, but I have a very strong feeling she is bipolar. She would call um, ask me a couple questions and then call back the next day and I’d have the answer to the questions. She’s like, I never asked you that.

Which is what drives me insane because Casey was never like this when we were in high school or middle school. She was perfectly fine and it was after she had the baby’s when the issue started. I mean the boyfriends, I don’t want to get started on that. I cannot keep… I cannot keep track of who she was dating and who she was with.

And like I said she has issues, she does. I don’t know if she’s ever seek medical attention I know at one point um, the first time that I saw her back at Universal like years ago. Um, I told her she needed to get help.

These are some of the people who knew Casey well, or at least thought they knew her. The media spin certainly created doubt as it called her uncaring and unfeeling, cold and callous, and a psychopath and sociopath.

Her friends knew her as a caring, helpful, happy, and outgoing person. But they also knew she told lies and the lies became more frequent after her child was born. She wanted people to think her life was better than it really was.

What Messed Her Up?

I cannot possibly know the answer to this, but I can wager a guess: George Anthony. There was no mention of “abuse” in any police interviews so I cannot go there. But he did have his fair share of impropriety with the family.

Cindy Anthony (transcript):

Her and her dad have a special relationship. Um, they’re a lot alike on a lot of things. Casey and um, a few years ago George and I were separated. Because of urn, some mistruths from him you know. And um, so their relationship has been strained over the last few years. Um, mainly just because of his relationship with me.

But there was some mistrust and Casey and Lee were very betrayed from that and they’re hurt. So, both of their relationship have been strained with their father. But prior to that you know just as close and they’re just.. you could see that it’s.. it’s starting rebuild again. You know and it’s hard though because we were separated for six months and that was right after Caylee was born. And Caylee has nothing to do with this, this just was timing that I found out something that he had been keeping from me for a while.

And um, the only other stress that she had was when George and I were having problems right after Caylee was born. I think that’s really the only major stress.

We’ve talked about eventually going to group counseling and we never did. I think a lot of it was with her struggle with her dad and stuff too trying to get together. I suggested all of us getting together urn, not to really rat George out or nothing. But you know there was … he had deceived me for a few years about money, financial things and stuff like that. And he tend to you know cover things up a little bit for a while. And I was starting to see some of those trends with Casey as far as not being truthful. And when I went to the counselor she said that you know sometimes people if they see someone close to them push it then they might do the same thing too.

We know Casey’s lies became more frequent after her daughter was born. She lost her job at Kodak because of “job abandonment” but told friends and family that she left. At that time her friend was babysitting the child on/off and Casey said that she worked at Sports Authority when, in fact, she was just hanging out with a guy.

Then she got another family to babysit her child on/off, but after a while they said that they couldn’t do it anymore. At that point she made up the nanny story and began taking care of the child herself, with help from her parents (read “Zanny, the Nanny”).

This also seems to be around the time when Casey started stealing money and cashing bad checks. Is it mere coincidence that George Anthony left the family shortly before all of this started?

Casey Anthony, Party Girl?

The pictures of Casey at the Fusian nightclub are now infamous. The State said she traded her child’s life for that life. What’s the backstory behind the partying?

Melina Calabrese:

I don’t think she would—went to many parties at all.

You know, we went out every once in a while.  You know, big deal.

Uhm, you know, Casey and I have had plenty of good times since high school. And, you know, even in high school, and since high school, neither of us were really the club going out [type].

Detectives asked Casey’s June/July 2008 boyfriend Anthony Lazzaro, “So you wouldn’t call her a big party girl?” His response, “Not really, I mean, not since she’s been with me, no.

So from high school up until July 2008, she wasn’t characterized by her friends as a “party girl.” But what about the Fusian pictures? Why was she there?

Anthony Lazzaro:

Um…there’s actually a club that I worked I worked at (inaudible) been there since…I went back to New York, but I usually manage at night at uh Fusian, which is a sushi restaurant [during the day] off of Woodbury Road. It’s the owner makes it like a lounge martini bar after, is a really nice place actually.

Um…and I manage the nights and I usually DJ so, I mean, she would just come up there, you know, try to help out with whatever ’cause I have the shot girls and she tells the shot girls she wants to have some kind of help, so I would let her, you know, manage the shot girls.

Nathan Lezniewicz (transcript):

What happened is she had gone there [Fusian] uhm, with Tony. Uhm, she didn’t work there. She was uh, Tony’s girlfriend. Uhm, Tony and Clint had the promotion company in conjunction with two other gentlemen. Uhm, they all ran Friday nights there. She would just sit with Tony uhm, at the front door, you know, checking ID’s or whatever, whatnot.

What about that “hot-body contest?”

Nathan Lezniewicz:

Uhm, they were running short on girls that evening for the hot body contest. Someone had asked her, I’m not sure if it was Tony or one of the other promoters had asked her hey, would you do it?

So she changed. At that point she had like a skirt in her car or something. So she changed into that blue outfit at that point. Based at the realization that hey, I’m about to get on stage and do some dancing, she did proceed to pound some shots and some drinks before she got up on stage…

She was at Fusian because of her boyfriend. She texted people to support the club, but she didn’t party. Instead, she wanted to manage the shot girls. However, she still participated in the “hot-body contest,” but she was a last-minute fill-in. To say that was the “life she wanted” would be a misrepresentation of reality. It’s amazing to think that all she had to do was say “No” to the promoters and those pictures would not even exist. The State would have been left trying to manufacture another motive.

People react to loss and trauma in different ways. They lose loved ones and go to work the next day. No one ever suspects they are hurting inside because they conceal it to do their job. If Casey Anthony had a real job and went to work and such, how would the story change? The evidence would be exactly the same sans the racy pictures.

I am in no way defending Casey Anthony’s behavior. In my opinion, it was bad behavior whether or not she even had a child – clubbing is irresponsible and immature. But, her behavior was consistent with who was around her.

As Amy Huizenga said, “I mean, not that I’m defending her [actions] at all, but that’s because she was staying with me, and that’s what I was doing. And that’s what the people, you know, around her were doing. Not that I’m defending her at all.

Psychological Analysis:

Jesse Grund, who was previously engaged to Casey Anthony, had this to say about her:

If something accidentally happened to Caylee I literally believe that Casey would have an emotional breakdown; a mental breakdown to the point where I almost believe that she would take Caylee and put her somewhere and then uh, tell herself a new story, a new reality of what happened to her.

I think, I think if something happened to Caylee, her one toe that she’s had in reality for the last couple years, her one foot would be gone and she would be completely in her own separate world. And I think uh, that’s because Casey directly has some issues that mentally she’s never gotten taken, taken care of.

There were two types of psychologists who offered their take on Casey Anthony: the ones who actually analyzed her and the ones who didn’t.

Dr. Drew and the other psychologists who talked on the cable tabloid news shows called her a psychopath and sociopath, but never actually analyzed her. As person of science, I could not render a strong opinion if I only had limited data to work with, despite my expertise and experience. I guess you can in behavioral science because everyone in the world is exactly the same.

These TV psychologists had a few hours of jailhouse tapes to work with in order to establish a full psychological profile of then 22 year-old Casey Anthony – 5 hours in the life of a 22 year-old. They had no history. They probably didn’t even read the police reports. Would you take the opinion of your doctor if he or she did not have your background and medical history? I think not. (Article)

Two of the psychologists who analyzed Casey Anthony spoke out to the media, at Casey’s request. What kind of murderer allows her psychologists to speak about her mental state?

Dr. William Weitz and Dr. Harry Krop both analyzed Casey Anthony while in jail, along with other doctors. Weitz started in late 2009 and Krop in late 2010.

Unlike the TV psychologists, the real psychologists actually performed an in-depth study of Casey Anthony.

Dr. Weitz said to Nancy Grace (transcript):

Well, the evaluation that we did, and, Nancy, I want to stress we did not only clinical interview and interaction, but we reviewed significant educational and developmental history information, police reports, we looked at family records, we looked at videotapes and pictures. So we tried to — and psychometric testing.

So we tried to accumulate the best information available to render some professional opinions.

Dr. Krop, who interviewed Casey for 20 hours over the course of a few sessions, said the similar to Dr. Drew.

Both said the words “psychopath” and “sociopath” were thrown around to describe Casey Anthony, but the characterizations were inaccurate.

Dr. Weitz:

Let’s be clear. Many of the mental health experts have been yelling psychopath, sociopath. And there are a variety of mental health personality disorders that have qualities that consist of things like the lying, the clear lying, the deceitfulness, the stealing of money, the misrepresentation, the misstatements, the things that Mr. Baez and his opening statement, closing, talked about strange, unusual behaviors.

Certainly those components exist within Miss Anthony, and they were recognized. And we strongly considered those factors when we looked at whether or not she met a personality disorder classification.

However, in my mind specifically when it came to anti-social personality or sociopathy, there was a specific provision that ruled out her being diagnosed with that disorder.

Dr. Krop (transcript):

I have seen… individuals… making references to her as either a psychopath or a sociopath.

I do not believe – based on all of my interactions with her, as well as the psychological testing, I don’t believe that she has any diagnosable mental illness …when I’m referring to mental illness, I’m referring to a psychiatric or a psychological disorder. A person must meet certain behavioral criteria to be actually diagnosed with a mental illness.

So she has bad personality traits, but no personality disorders. She is not a psychopath or sociopath or narcissist or pathological liar.

The interview Dr. Weitz had with Nancy Grace was very short, probably because he was not telling her and her viewers what they wanted to hear. The truth can be unpleasant sometimes.

What about the abnormal reaction to her daughter’s death? In another interview, Dr. Weitz commented on the fact the Casey showed post-traumatic stress disorder features, but would not be specific (article):

It is very difficult to cope with those experiences and so, traditionally, I have seen over many, many years of practice that individuals typically respond in certain defined ways, and some of those ways have to do with repression and denial of the event, detachment of emotions.

What is known is she suffered many losses, significant losses, and so, obviously, the issue of trauma and reactions to trauma could be explored as a reasonable psychological consideration.

Dr. Krop spoke to a Gainesville newspaper (he is a professor at UF) and elaborated on Casey’s PTSD features (article):

“‘From the testing, she showed post-traumatic stress disorder features.’

Krop said post-traumatic stress disorder is consistent with people who have been abused as children and that Anthony was displaying those symptoms, according to interviews with her friends, before Caylee’s death in 2008 and before he interviewed her 2½ years into her incarceration.

He said the features of PTSD that Anthony displayed during his interviews with her include: flashbacks, avoidance, lack of trust — ‘It took a while for her to trust her attorney, as well as me’ — distancing herself emotionally and lying.

‘she hides emotions by trying to be funny…'”

Dr. Krop also explained Casey Anthony’s penchant for lying:

“Krop said Anthony’s lying began when she was about 16 years old.

‘Casey did not want to disappoint her family or feel rejected by her family, and so her first alternative was often to lie to family,’ Krop said. ‘The way Casey deals with things — she was raised in a family where I think there were some pretty inadequate ways of coping with conflict and stress (with) denial and secrecy.

‘It’s apparent that this is a pretty dysfunctional family,’ Krop said, noting that he did not interview the family but depended on transcripts of state psychologists who did.

Krop, 68, said Anthony’s friends noticed a change in her personality beginning in 2007. At about the same time, Anthony began suffering from seizures. Krop said Anthony has had six documented seizures during her jail stay. ‘She was taken to the hospital for one of those seizures,’ he said.”

Since she’s not a psychopath, how do you explain the bad behavior and jailhouse videos?

Dr. Krop said to Dr. Drew:

She’s an intelligent woman, but basically an extremely immature woman.

She has average I.Q. She’s in the 70th percentile compared to the overall population… But in terms of maturity… I think this even comes from Casey’s mouth – she can’t believe how immature… she behaved… I emphasize that I am seeing a Casey who has been in jail for close to three years when I start seeing her… when she looks back in time, [she] has a real hard time understanding how she behaved the way she behaved.

When I spoke to Casey about those conversations and some of the things that have been shown on TV, she, herself – and I’m not suggesting that she is denying that – but, she, herself, has a difficult time truly understanding how she could have been so immature and how she could have engaged in the kind of behavior that the public has seen so much of her.

Casey Anthony told Dr. Krop:

I’m embarrassed when I look at my behavior now. I can understand why others think the way they do.

Indeed, psychologists who analyzed her leaked jailhouse letters she wrote in 2008-2009 agreed that she showed a level of immaturity (article, read jailhouse letters):

The fact that she and Adams had to sneak notes to one another through a book and chance getting caught highlights someone who made poor, immature choices, the psychologists agreed.

Dr. Krop said Casey told him it’s hard for her to believe she’s the same person now that she was in June 2008. That seems to indicate that she has grown up a bit and has become more mature. Young people tend to do that.

So, could this immature 22 year-old have killed her child?

Dr. Krop:

It would be out of character for what I’ve learned about her parenting, that she was not a negligent or abusive parent… it also would have been out of character for – in comparing to her prior history or lack of history of violence… So if there was a homicide, it would have been out of character for her.

She told him what happened, presumably that her child drowned, and he said her story has never changed. So, then, why didn’t she call 911?

“Krop said Anthony could not explain to him why she did not call 911 if Caylee had drowned in the family pool, as her attorney, Jose Baez, said in his opening statements.

‘One of the ways Casey has always dealt with [things] is letting someone else take care of it,’ he said. ‘She always let her parents take care of things. She expected someone else to call 911.'”

He offered his take on the State’s theory:

“’To go from an intelligent woman who has no history of violence and who was shown to be a loving mother,’ Krop said, ‘to go from that to somebody who would intentionally kill their child to party more, especially when she had built-in baby sitters, I think that was a theory the jury had a hard time buying.’”

That really sums up the scope of this post. All of the character statements above show that Casey Anthony loved her daughter and never abused or neglected her, nor did she have a history of violence. How could someone go from that to a killer? It is extremely improbable, but not impossible. Mothers have killed their children before, but they fit a profile. Casey did not.

She was a mother who reacted to and dealt with the death of her child abnormally and acted immaturely in the wake of her death. Her lying made the situation exponentially worse.

Rarely do I agree with the defense, but they said Casey Anthony is a misunderstood individual. I guess they were right, whether we want to believe it or not. It seems that 25 year-old Casey Anthony is different than the 22 year-old version according to her psychologists. I guess time will tell.

A Tender Moment?

Nathan Lezniewicz:

Tony said that she [Casey] had had woken up before crying.

Uhm, I guess it was, he had just told me this maybe a couple weeks ago that she had sat up one night [and] that he had woken up. I guess maybe between the hours of three and five he had woken up and she was sitting up in the bed next to him crying.

Tony Lazzaro (transcript):

One time, a couple times that I had her, she had nightmares and she had these sweats, but I can’t remember exactly what days those were.

Uhm, I remember, I would say it wasn’t at night. It was in the morning. And she was already awake. And she was just on her laptop watching uh, this video and she was crying.

The video where I guess it shows like Caylee with the gr…her [great-] grandfather, that was shown all over the news.

She was uh, uh, sitting up in my bed and like at, like at the end, like … Indian style or whatever. And then uh, and she had the laptop in here, in her lap.

At some point during the “31 days” before her boyfriend left for New York, she awoke in the middle of the night when she thought everyone was asleep, sat up in bed, turned on her laptop and cried to a video of her child (view video).

She put on a show during the day filled with lies and preoccupied herself, but the memories could not elude her at night. Would a cold-hearted killer look back at her prey and cry? Or would a mother look back at her fallen child?

It reminds me of this moment during the trial:

The clues were there: a mother without her child day after day, a mother crying to her child’s image when no one should have been watching, etc. She didn’t want to let anyone in. She wanted to deal with it herself.

Casey Anthony is not innocent by any means, but the vilification and assassination of her character was unfounded. The media twisted her life and made her appear the way they wanted, not the way she was.

Conclusion

If Casey Anthony was abusive and neglectful, this post would be about that. If she was an “uncaring, unfeeling” mother, the testimonies, interviews, and evidence would prove that. There would be no doubt. If her friends came out and said, “Hey, she was a party animal,” etc., then this post would reflect that. But they didn’t. They said the opposite, and that’s just the way the story played out.

The State said it was all an act. If they can say that about her, then they can say that about us. How can we prove we love our children? If nothing happened to the child, no one would question her love. Maybe she wasn’t a “good mother,” but she certainly loved her child.

People really want Casey Anthony to be a monster. But the evidence just is not there, unless you believe whatever you want. Even Richard Grund went on Dr. Drew after the verdict and admitted that Casey Anthony was not a monster (see video).

Is she guilty of unsavory behavior after the death of her child? Yes, and even she admits that. But does that mean she murdered her child. No, not by a long shot. Her behavior before June 16, 2008 was more important than her behavior after.

My goal with this blog was to uncover the truth. Unlike the State, I cared not to prove guilt. Unlike the defense, I cared not to prove innocence. I spent an additional month after the trial ended to perform detailed analysis of the evidence, primarily from a scientific standpoint, but also from a credibility standpoint. I reviewed all of the discovery thanks to Florida’s liberal release laws. I rewatched most of the experts’ testimonials. After writing 10 long posts, I am certain that if she murdered her child, it was definitely not by chloroform and/or duct tape (read “Analysis”).

But there was no murder. It was an accident that was covered up.

What was the accident? Well it could be drowning, choking, heat exhaustion or some other non-traumatic cause of death. I think it was drowning based on the circumstantial and scientific evidence (read “The Drowning Theory”). It fits too well.

Casey Anthony deserved everything she got, aside from facing the death penalty – although that may have helped her. She lied and that raised suspicion by law enforcement, and rightfully so. She could have ended the situation before it got out of control, but she let it go until the very end. She hurt everyone involved.

What was her punishment? If it was an accident, then the punishment was the loss of her child. No form of State-imposed punishment could match that.

It was also spending 5 months of 2008, all of 2009/2010, and 7.5 months of 2011 in solitary confinement, most of which facing the death penalty; estrangement to her family and friends; and universal hatred. She also had to listen to the gruesome details of what happened to her child after death. I would rather die than listen to that.

Some thought the punishment was too little. One lady said the death penalty would have been too good for her. I would not want to get on that lady’s bad side.

Well, what does it matter? She’s already lost everything. Now she has to watch her back anywhere she goes. Every time she smiles, she will be judged. Every time she laughs, she will be judged. She is not allowed to be happy ever again. I would not be surprised if there’s a trial for the murder of Casey Anthony sometime in the future. And there would be no doubt it was a murder. People are crazy enough to seek vigilante justice (read article). It’s time to move on.

From day one, this was a psychological case, not a murder case. Case closed.

Ignorance

I just wanted to present the evidence and my analysis. I was not trying to paint Casey Anthony in a “good” light or stick up for her. We know what happens when people try to do that.

For example, the aforementioned Dr. Harry Krop went on Dr. Drew to present his psychological analysis of Casey Anthony and was branded a “wacko” by people of lesser intelligence. This is a man who has seen over 2,000 patients facing capital murder convictions and even wrote papers on the profiles of individuals on death row. Days after the show, he started receiving hate phone calls from real wackos.

Gulity is not a word.

The innocent jurors, who reported to jury duty and were chosen for this trial because they knew little about the case, were subjected to backlash by these brainless idiots. They were sequestered for 6 weeks and listened to every piece of evidence. The jury foreman took 600 pages of notes. They were all shocked when the prosecution rested. They deliberated for 12 hours or so. What were they going to find that wasn’t there? If the jurors looked closer at the evidence, they might have moved further away from murder (read “Analysis”). The State overcharged and under-delivered. It should not have been trivial to prove murder and it wasn’t.

I find it incredulous that people are actually expending effort to boycott Casey Anthony. Children are abused and go missing every day in the United States, yet people are creating picket signs against Casey Anthony. Over 30,000 children have died in East Africa this year alone because of famine and drought, yet people are spending money to call Casey Anthony a few bad names. Tell Nancy Grace we don’t care where Casey Anthony is or what she’s doing. Tell the people that their priorities are misplaced.

Forget about Casey Anthony and focus on the others that need attention.

12 thoughts on “Casey Anthony: Loving Mother?

  1. This is a very good well-rounded synopsis. You’re right, Caylee lived a very loved, happy life (as far as we know) compared to other unwanted, abused, murdered children.

    I agree with you that Casey was not 100% neglectful, or 100% a party girl, or 100% sex-driven, or 100% monster. But she was some of these things at different times.

    I think she was fun, out-going, crowd pleasing, and loved Caylee. But this nice person was also a pain to her family.

    There was tension in her family over her oft-times lack of responsibility, immaturity, theft, desire to get out with friends, etc, and I think she killed Caylee out of anger somehow. Only Casey knows what happened. This makes Casey that monster…whatever percentage that is. She did party and bed-hop. And instead of dealing with the truth about herself, she lied, as she continues to do.

    Many immature, young people act badly. But no matter how common it is, doesn’t make it right. Even older, more mature, loving parents lose it from time to time over stress. It’s only by the grace of God that children survive at all.

    • Thanks for the insight.

      I believe 22 year-old Casey Anthony was a representation of how young adults her age acted. And being in her age group, I’ve witnessed it first hand. They are narcissistic and carefree. They lie to do whatever they want and steal to get whatever they want. And they yell at their parents. They are definitely a pain to their family. Casey is as much a “monster” in that respect as the rest of those who act the same way. I wholeheartedly agree with that. Her life was controlled chaos. Interestingly, the only thing keeping it all in balance was her child. Without the child, she would have been kicked out.

      She is a commentary on the way young adults are acting these days. And you are correct, it is not right at all.

      As far as killing her child out of anger, I don’t see it occurring. Casey was not a violent or abusive person. Family and friends could not produce any firsthand accounts of Casey striking or abusing her child. Circumstantially, there were never any mysterious bruises found by the grandparents. Casey dealt with her child’s tantrums appropriately as stated by those who spent a considerable amount of time with both of them. The child was described as a “social butterfly,” not reticent and afraid. I cannot speak to verbal abuse, but that cannot kill a child.

      Loving parents do get stressed with their children from time to time. But they do not instantly become killers, especially if they do not have the requisite history. Bad luck for Casey if the first strike she ever gave to her child was a fatal one. Then again, there was no indication of perimortem trauma.

      • I’m not sure Casey is a representative or a commentary of the way young adults act these days. That’s a huge statement. I’m sure for every “Casey” there are many perhaps struggling youth who are fairly responsible. She stole thousands from her folks and from friends.

        Casey was an angry person in her household. Neighbors vouched for several loud arguments. It’s obvious the family tip-toed around her.

        Anger does not require violence (as we often think of it)) to kill. Nor does murder need a violent history. All it takes is stress, lack of self-control, and the wrong moment.

        I don’t think Casey was directly angry with Caylee, but with everything happening, especially authority..her parents, who were trying to make her accountable.

        I don’t think she was a monster…until she crossed that line of taking Caylee’s life.

      • I mostly agree; however, intentional homicide is a violent act. Nevertheless, anything is possible.

  2. I agree with offthecuff. The analysis presented by this blog post omits other behaviours displayed by Casey. It also omits circumstantial, as well as overwhelming physical evidence of foul play by Casey Anthony. Her character is completely that of a liar, and this was apparent years before her daughter was missing.

    I have a member of my family who displayed the same victim mentality, although she was thoroughly abusive to other members of her family.

    • I believe her lying and stealing are common knowledge as portrayed by the media. There was no need to go into detail on this post, although that may be a topic for a future post. If you read the police interviews, you can actually see when and why each lie started. Murderers can be liars, but not all liars are murderers.

      As far as the circumstantial evidence, I invite you to read the other posts on this blog.

  3. Susan Smith was a loving mother too…No signs of anything eccept a great mother that loved her kids, as per her husband..Then out of the blue she drowned her kids in the lake and blamed it on some black guy who did it..Casey was a devil in disguise, just like Susan Smith………..

    • Susan Smith attempted suicide twice and had an abortion before her sons were born. Her take on the value of life was quite different than Casey Anthony. Though the stories may be similar, the profiles are very different.

  4. I think Chuck’s point is that someone can be a seemingly loving parent and still murder his/her children.

    Susan Smith is different than Casey, but in the detail Chuck points out, they are similar. Some people have a hard time getting past that detail with Casey. Casey also had an abortion before Caylee’s birth. But in both cases, I’m not sure that abortions determine how they feel about the value of their living children. Obviously in each case, something went terribly wrong, and the children paid the price.

    • Casey never had an abortion, unless there is a source I overlooked. She, supposedly, had a miscarriage. However, the evaluations of their profile is not based on their view of abortion.

      Susan Smith had a history of violence, even if it was against herself. If you recall her story, she planned on joining her sons in their fate, but changed her mind at the last minute. No such dynamic of violence exists in Casey Anthony.

      I agree that loving parents can still murder their children seemingly out of the blue, but upon evaluation it is found they have prerequisite tendencies.

      Instead, the psychologists for Casey Anthony have said it would have been “out of character” for her to commit intentional homicide. One could say, “out of character” does not rule out the possibility. However, imagine finding yourself in a situation where you’re holding a gun to someone’s head. If you had no prior tendencies of violence, could you pull the trigger or would you back down?

  5. Pingback: Casey Anthony: Loving Mother? | Kids say :

Comments are closed.